IV Three Year Course in Vedanta and Sanskrit

Ongoing Program

Long Term Course (2017-2020)

Our teaching programs in Vedanta, Sanskrit & other allied subjects are meant for adults who have a quest for self-enquiry. To them, we impart the knowledge of Brahma Vidya in a three year residential course through the study of Prasthanatraya. Prasthanatraya consists of the Upanishads, the Bhagwad Gita & the Brahma Sutras. We teach the Prasthanatraya with the bhashya of Sri Adishankaracharya. In this residential teaching program, we also teach the Sanskrit language along with the Paninian system of grammar, elements of the Indian system of logic and other allied subjects. The teaching program also includes training in Vedic chanting, performing pujas.

The fourth long term course started on 1st July 2017 with Swamini Brahmaprakasananda Saraswati as the main acarya. The course’s primary objective is to impart the vision of Advaita Vedanta and enable the participants to continue to lead a life in keeping with the vision. The long-term syllabus includes study of

  • Upanishads
  • Bhagavad Gita
  • Vedanta Prakaranas like Tattvabodha, Atmabodha, Panchadashi etc
  • Brahmasutras
  • Sanskrit with Paninian system of Grammar
  • Vedic chanting – Taittiriya Upanishad, Ganapati Atharvashirsha Upanishad, Purusha Suktam, Shri Suktam, Durga Suktam, etc.

Weekday Course Schedule:

  • 06:15 am – Guru Puja
  • 06:30 am – Mediation
  • 07:00 am – Upanishad* Class with Shankara Bhashyam
  • 09:30 am – Sanskrit Class
  • 10:45 am – Chanting (30 Minutes)
  • 11-30 am – Prakarana Grantha** Class
  • 03-30 pm – Sanskrit Class
  • 04:30 pm – Bhagavad Gita with Shankara Bhashyam
  • 08:15 pm – Satsanga

*1 Current Upanishad: Taittriya Upanishad

** Current text: Pancadasi – 4th Chapter

Saturday and Sunday are holidays with only one Upanishad class at 7:00 am on Saturday.

The course is scheduled to complete sometime in the year 2020.

The following have been taught so far:

  • Upanishads: Katha Upanishad, Kena Upanishad and Mundaka Upanishad (everyone with Shankara Bhashyam) and Kaivalya Upanishad.
  • Bhagavad Gita: Chapters 1 – 6 with Shankara Bhashyam
  • Prakarana Granthas: Tattva Bodha, Atmabodha, Vivekachudamani, Sadhana Pancakam, Vedanta Sara, Panchadashi chapters 1, 2 and 3, and other small texts.

%d bloggers like this: